Diving into Diversity

Online Event

Organized by

July 20, 2021 at 10 am Pacific / 12 pm Central / 1 pm Eastern

Lori Sanderlin and Katy Menne, North Carolina Maritime Museum at Southport

Looking for ways to reach and engage a wider and more diverse audience and/or students? Gain some summer inspiration with Lori Sanderlin and Katy Menne of the North Carolina Maritime Museum at Southport.

Navigate your way to this live webinar as Lori and Katy discuss how their small museum in southeastern North Carolina took on the big topic of Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion, with a special look at Accessibility and Inclusion. The museum is the first Certified Autism Center in the state of North Carolina and welcomes visitors of all abilities and their families.

Tune in for a unique take on how the maritime field can be adapted to reach a wider, more diverse audience. Learn how this small staff of three took on adapting programs, creating an American Sign Language (ASL) tour, and making physical alterations to create a more welcoming and inclusive experience for individuals and families with sensory sensitivities or special needs.

Image Credit: https://sanctuaries.noaa.gov/education/teachers/webinar-series.html
Organized By

Share this Event

Number of registered events this year: 1000 and counting!