Song of the Ocean

Online Event

Organized by Deep-Ocean Stewardship Initiative

Song of the Ocean is a collaboration between science and the arts to raise awareness of the importance of the ocean for us all, and to highlight the major issues of declining ocean health and the need for sustainability and planet protection.

The Song was composed by Paul Mealor, known for his work for the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton (Music © Copyright 2020 Novello & Company Limited). The words are written by internationally-acclaimed poet, Dr Grahame Davies, and informed by ocean experts Marcel Jaspars and Abbe Brown, professors of the University of Aberdeen and members of the Deep-Ocean Stewardship Initiative.

For World Ocean Day, 8th June 2021, the Song will be performed by a choir of singers and signers – ocean professionals, advocates and enthusiasts – from around the world with the Philharmonia Orchestra, and with the generous support of many other partners. It has been officially endorsed as a UN Ocean Decade Activity as part of the 2021-2030 United Nations Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development. This performance will be premiered on YouTube at 1pm UTC (9am EDT / 2pm BST / 3pm CEST / 10pm CST).

Organized By

Share this Event

Number of registered events this year: 700 and counting!